The Alaska Writers Directory

Leslie Hsu Oh

Where: Anchorage or The Bush in the summers
Genre(s): Fiction, poetry, literary nonfiction, journalism, essays
Job(s): freelance writer and adjunct faculty


Favorite Places in Alaska: Crow's Pass

Bio: At age twenty-one, Leslie Hsu Oh loses both my mother and brother to liver cancer caused by hepatitis B. This double death fuels the passion Leslie brings to her writing and work.

Once a week, Leslie contributes to the Love + eMotion blog at Kids These Days!. "Raising Techno Addicts" aired on Modern Families and the Digital Age Show, Kids These Days!. Her story "Red Balloon" is published in Cirque. Two chapters adapted from her memoir are published: "Between the Lines" in Under the Sun (2009 Notable Essay in The Best American Essays 2010) and "Love Food" in Rosebud Magazine. She co-authored The Strategic Application of Information Technology in Health Care Organizations (McGraw-Hill 1999). She also published chapters in books like The Internet and Health Communication (Sage Publications 2001) and Older Adults, Health Information, and the World Wide Web (Lawrence Erlbaum Associates 2001).

Leslie Hsu Oh is founder of The Hepatitis B Initiative in Boston and Washington, D.C., Maryland, and Virginia. She served as Federal Liaison to the White House Initiative on Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders; Northeast Regional Director of the National Task Force on Hepatitis B: Focus on Asians and Pacific Islanders; Program Chair for the American Indian, Alaska Native, Native Hawaiian Caucus of the American Public Health Association; Membership Chair for the Asian Pacific Islander Caucus of the American Public Health Association; and Board of Directors member of the National Viral Hepatitis Roundtable. She also designed user-centered web sites specifically for special populations at the Alaska Native Science Commission and healthfinder® for the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, and Surgeon General's web site. Currently, she teaches at the University of Alaska Anchorage and consults for a variety of Alaska Native organizations.

She received a master's degree in Health Communications from Harvard School of Public Health and a Masters in Fine Arts for Creative Writing from University of Anchorage Alaska. She is the recipient of the Rasmuson Foundation Individual Artist Award; the first Julius B. Richmond Young Leader in Public Health Award for outstanding dedication to the health and well being of the community and demonstration of initiative and advocacy in public health; the first National Award for Excellence in Public Health Leadership; the Sun Memorial Award for exemplifying a commitment to improving the health and well being of people in underserved populations; and the Schweitzer Award for reverence for life. She is a Fellow for Life with the Albert Schweitzer Fellowship.


  • The Strategic Application of Information Technology in Health Care Organizations (McGraw-Hill 1999)

Work Online:

Please contact me for all of the above

Please note: All information in the Directory is provided by the writers listed in it.
Listing last updated: April, 2012

find a writer


A - E

F - J

K - O
  Kahn, Steve
  Kane, Joan
  Kantner, Seth
  Kastelic, Patty
  Kay, Jamie
  Keim, Frank
  Kizzia, Tom
  Kleven, Sandra
  Klinkhart, Glen
  Knorr, Alyse
  Komatsu, Matthew
  Kremers, Carolyn
  Lamb, Jonas
  Lamkin, M. Scotty
  Lavrakas, Jim
  Leggette-Aldrich, Amber
  Lende, Heather
  Levi, Steven
  Liefer, Gregory
  Linsey, Tam
  Loewen, Sara
  Lovegreen, Lynn
  Lord, Nancy
  Lujan, Constance
  Magly, Michelle
  Maloney, Lisa
  Mangelsdorf, Katie
  Mansfield, Maxine
  Markham, Lela
  Marshall, Amy
  Martin, Linda
  Matthews, Bonnye
  Matthews, Miriam
  McIver, Kevin
  McKinney, Debra
  McKittrick, Erin
  McManus, Marguerita
  McMurren, Scott
  Mealy, Misty
  Mendenhall, Nancy
  Meredith, Lizbeth
  Merk, William
  Miller, Lisa
  Mishler, Susanna J.
  Misko, James
  Mitchell, Ellen
  Moderow, Debbie Clarke
  Mondor, Colleen
  Morgan, John
  Morse, Rebecca
  Mumey, Joel
  Nelson, Richard
  Newell, Lizzie
  O'Connell, Elizabeth
  O'Connor, Lyle
  O'Donnell, Nicole
  Offer, Maria
  Oh, Leslie Hsu
  O'Neill, Dan
  O'Reilly, Morgan
  Oswald, Lori Jo
  Owen, Lauri J

P - T

U - Z

See all authors .