The Alaska Writers Directory

Joan Kane

Where: Anchorage
Genre(s): Poetry, Creative Nonfiction, Playwriting, Journalism


Favorite Places in Alaska:
Bering Straits region.

Joan Kane is Irish and Inupiaq Eskimo, with family from King Island and Mary's Igloo, Alaska. She earned her bachelor's degree from Harvard College and her M.F.A. from Columbia University. Kane received the John Haines Award from Ice Floe Press in 2004, was a semi-finalist for the Academy of American Poets' Walt Whitman Award in 2006, and received a 2007 individual artist award from the Rasmuson Foundation. In 2009 her play, "The Gilded Tusk," won the Anchorage Museum theater contest and she was selected as a finalist for the Poetry Foundation's Ruth Lilly Fellowship. She is a 2009 recipient of the Connie Boochever Fellowship from the Alaska State Council on the Arts, a National Native Creative Development Program recipient, and a Whiting Writers' Award winner. Along with her husband and sons, she lives in Anchorage, Alaska.


  • The Cormorant Hunter's Wife (poetry), NorthShore Press, 2009

Please contact me for readings, workshops, classes, lectures, manuscript consulations.
I work with university writers
Special Interests:
I have a particular interest in identity literature, new English literature, and women writers

Please note: All information in the Directory is provided by the writers listed in it.
Listing last updated: February, 2011

find a writer


A - E

F - J

K - O
  Kahn, Steve
  Kane, Joan
  Kantner, Seth
  Kastelic, Patty
  Kay, Jamie
  Keim, Frank
  Kizzia, Tom
  Kleven, Sandra
  Klinkhart, Glen
  Knorr, Alyse
  Komatsu, Matthew
  Kremers, Carolyn
  Lamb, Jonas
  Lamkin, M. Scotty
  Lavrakas, Jim
  Leggette-Aldrich, Amber
  Lende, Heather
  Levi, Steven
  Liefer, Gregory
  Linsey, Tam
  Loewen, Sara
  Lovegreen, Lynn
  Lord, Nancy
  Lujan, Constance
  Magly, Michelle
  Maloney, Lisa
  Mangelsdorf, Katie
  Mansfield, Maxine
  Markham, Lela
  Marshall, Amy
  Martin, Linda
  Matthews, Bonnye
  Matthews, Miriam
  McIver, Kevin
  McKinney, Debra
  McKittrick, Erin
  McManus, Marguerita
  McMurren, Scott
  Mealy, Misty
  Mendenhall, Nancy
  Meredith, Lizbeth
  Merk, William
  Miller, Lisa
  Mishler, Susanna J.
  Misko, James
  Mitchell, Ellen
  Moderow, Debbie Clarke
  Mondor, Colleen
  Morgan, John
  Morse, Rebecca
  Mumey, Joel
  Nelson, Richard
  Newell, Lizzie
  O'Connell, Elizabeth
  O'Connor, Lyle
  O'Donnell, Nicole
  Offer, Maria
  Oh, Leslie Hsu
  O'Neill, Dan
  O'Reilly, Morgan
  Oswald, Lori Jo
  Owen, Lauri J

P - T

U - Z

See all authors .